ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024

T20 is a short game format of cricket which is most liked all over the world. Earlier it was also known as ICC World Twenty20. The ICC started participating in the World Cup for T20 in 2007. The tournament is held once in 2 years and is organized by the ICC (International Cricket Council). Here we are preparing the list of t20 world cup winners from 2007 to 2024 so that you can know which teams have won the t20 world cup so far.

T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first T20 World Cup was played in South Africa in 2007. The game takes place once in 2 years, however, not a single T20 World Cup has been played in the last 5 years after 2016 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. But now the T20 World Cup will be organized continuously for 2 years (2024 and 2024).

West Indies were the winners of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2016. After that the upcoming icc t20 world cup 2024 is to be organized by Oman and UAE. The ICC T20 World Cup will be held from 17 October to 14 November 2024. Yes, this year ICC Men’s T20 World 2024 will be played at International Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium and Oman Cricket Academy Ground located in Dubai.

Which Team Won The T20 World Cup Most Times

Till now there have been 6 tournaments of T20 cricket and its seventh edition is going to happen in 2024. In these 6 tournaments, West Indies is the only team that has won 2 times. At the same time, Australia has not become a winner even once. However, she has made it to the final once. So this time all eyes will be on Australia.

West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

On this page, we are telling you about the teams that won the ICC T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2024. If you are fond of watching T20 cricket match then it is very important for you to know about ‘icc t20 world cup winners 2007 to 2024’.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List 2007 – 2024

Here you know that, from 2007 to 2024, which team became the winner of the ICC T20 world cup and how many times. Here you can also know that the winning team became the winner by defeating which team.

YearWinnerRunner UpResultHost Country
2007IndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runsSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 8 wicketsEngland
2010EnglandAustraliaEngland won by 7 wicketsWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri LankaWest Indies won by 36 runsSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 6 wicketsBangladesh
2016West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 4 wicketsIndia

These are the teams that have become the ICC T20 world cup winners since 2007. There have been 6 T20 World Cups since 2007. And 5 teams have won the T20 World Cup. Out of these, the West Indies cricket team managed to become the winner twice. Australia and Bangladesh have not won even once. Come, here we also tell you how the winning teams won and how they won the T20 world cup trophy.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner – India

The first edition of T20 World Cup was held in South Africa which India won by 5 runs against Pakistan in 2007. It was the first Indian team to win the T20 World Cup. At that time Dhoni was the captain of the Indian team. In this tournament, the Indian team lost only 1 match.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner – Pakistan

The winner of the ICC T20 World Cup 2009 was Pakistan’s team. Pakistan, one step behind the victory in the first T20 World Cup, won the trophy in the next T20 World Cup and became the second team to win the T20 World Cup. The tournament was held in England in which Pakistan became the champion after defeating Sri Lanka. Although, Pakistan lost their first match in this tournament but still they managed to win the trophy.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner – England

England became the third team after India and Pakistan to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. In this tournament, England defeated Australia in the final. Although England lost their first match in this tournament, they did not lose a single match after that and won the trophy. This third edition of ICC T20 World Cup was held in West Indies in which England team won by defeating Australia by 7 wickets.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies

West Indies became the winner of T20 world cup 2012. In this tournament, Caribbean team West Indies defeated Sri Lanka to win the trophy. Sri Lanka was a team that reached the final match several times but slipped from the last position. The tournament was held in Sri Lanka, which West Indies won by defeating the Sri Lankan team by 36 runs. However, in this match, West Indies had lost 2 wickets for only 10+ scores, yet they achieved success.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka

In 2014, Sri Lanka became another team to win the T20 World Cup by defeating India. It was the most exciting T20 World Cup tournament ever as Sri Lanka was being taken lightly by everyone. The Indian team also ignored the Sri Lankan team and could not manage to win the trophy one more time.

This proved to be a historic victory for Sri Lanka. Kumar Sangakkara played the biggest role in this tournament. Sri Lanka had lost a match against England in this tournament. This T20 world cup was held in bangladesh in which Sri Lanka won by defeating India by 6 wickets.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

In 2016, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. This tournament was held in India, in which the West Indies team, which was the winner of the T20 World Cup 2012, won by defeating England. This World Cup West Indies team had only lost the match against Afghanistan, after that they won every match and won the trophy for the second time.

It seemed that England had won this match but West Indies team player Brathwaite registered a historic victory in the name of West Indies by hitting 4 sixes in the last balls.

At Last,

These were the teams that were the winners of the ICC T20 world cup from 2007 till now. After 2016, now the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is going to start from 17 October in 2024 which is going to run till 14 November. This tournament is being organized in UAE. Cricket lovers are eagerly waiting for the T20 world cup 2024 and now their wait is about to end.

If you want to know about icc men’s t20 world cup 2024 schedule, all teams, time table, host, date details etc. then you can read this article of ours. In this article you will continue to get all the updates about t20 world cup 2024.

If you are a cricket fan and do not want to miss a single match of T20 World Cup 2024, or want to watch every single match live on your mobile phone or computer, then read this article of ours.

Also Read:

In this article, we told you about the t20 world cup winner team from 2007 to 2024. We hope that, by reading the ICC T20 World Cup winners list, you must have come to know about the teams that have won T20 World Cup so far.

If you get the correct information about t20 world cup winners list 2007- 2024 in this article, then definitely share it with your friends on social media.

Leave a Comment

I need help with ...